Question #adfe4

1 Answer
Nov 4, 2015

Both cannot be considered catalyst. There are 8 catalysts. Seven intermediates are produced from one enzyme. Meanwhile, aconitase enzyme is used for two intermediates.


enter image source here

  1. citrate synthase
  2. aconitase
  3. isocitrate dehydrogenase
  4. α-ketoglutarate dehydrogenase
  5. succinyl-CoA synthetase
  6. Succinate dehydrogenase
  7. fumarase
  8. malate dehydrogenase

Basically, there are:-
1) four dehydrogenases (oxidation process) - involved in hydrogen abstraction
2) one bond forming enzymes (synthetase)
3) one hydration enzyme. And one enzyme is involved in a dehydration+hydration step (a form of isomerization).