Given the equilibrium #A(g)rightleftharpoonsB(g)#, what occurs if ....?

What occurs if #B# is removed?

1 Answer
Feb 16, 2017

Answer:

#"The equilibrium is maintained............"#

Explanation:

#"Le Chatelier's principle"# holds that when a system at equilibrium is subject to external perturbation, the equilibrium will move so as to offset the external perturbation (as I have mentioned before #"offset "!=" counteract"#).

See this old answer..

And thus in the proposed scenario:

#A(g)rightleftharpoonsB(g)#,

if we remove #B# (by condensation for instance), the equilibrium will be driven to the right. Note that the equilibrium merely re-establishes itself by so moving. Chemists, and chemical engineers are good at manipulating these sorts of equilibria, so that they get good turnovers.