Question #43483

1 Answer
Apr 6, 2017

It is a text that defines the laws and the institutions of the United States of America.


The USA constitution is made of two parts, the seven articles(which define the three different branches of powers) and the Bill of Rights that protects individual rights with its ten amendments.

The executive power is embodied by the president, the legislative power is embodied by Congress and the judiciary is embodied by the Supreme Court.

Presidents are elected every four years whereas representatives are elected every two years and senators have to go through reelection every six years. There are nine judges in the Supreme Court and they are appointed for life by the President with Congress approval.

The Bill of Rights protect rights such as the freedom of speech, freedom of reunion, the right to bear arms, the right to privacy, to a fair trial etc.

It is impossible to explain the whole document in a single answer, you need to study the document on your own