How many heart chambers are in a snake's heart?

1 Answer
Jan 24, 2017

The snake heart has 3 chambers - right and left atria and one ventricle .


The right atrium receives deoxygenated blood from the systemic circulation and the left receives oxygenated blood from the lungs via the left and right pulmonary veins.

The ventricle has internal ridges that enable a considerable functional separation between the oxygenated and deoxygenated blood. It is divided into three sub chambers. The cavum pulmonae, cavum venosum and cavum arteriosum.