How many parts is the human brain divided into? Is one of the parts the hind brain?

2 Answers
Jun 15, 2017

The human brain is divided into three parts: the brainstem, the cerebellum, and the cerebrum. The hindbrain is comprised of the brainstem and the cerebellum.


The human brain is divided into three parts:

  1. The brainstem which has the pons, the midbrain, and the medulla oblongata.
  2. The cerebellum which forms the hindbrain along with the brainstem and is located below the cerebrum.
  3. The cerebrum which is the largest section of the brain, is divided into two hemispheres (the left and the right) each of which has four lobes: the frontal, the temporal, the parietal, and the occipital.

The hindbrain refers to the oldest part of the brain in terms of evolution and is made up of the brainstem and the cerebellum. This section of the brain controls the autonomic body functions.

Jun 16, 2017

Human brain is anatomically divided in -

  • Fore brain/Prosencephalon,
  • Mid brain/Mesencephalon and
  • Hind brain/Rhombencephalon.

Each part is further subdivided.


PROSENCEPHALON is with following major parts:

  • Paired olfactory lobes,
  • Cerebrum: divided in left and right hemispheres,
  • Diencephalon: with epithalamus, hypothalamus and paired thalami.

In human, cerebrum is so huge that it dorsally covers all other structures of prosencephalon and also the mesencephalon. Each cerebral hemisphere is divided in few lobes:

  • Frontal,
  • Parietal,
  • Occipital,
  • Temporal and
  • Hippocampal.



  • Corpora quadrigemina (paired superior colliculi and paired inferior colliculi) on dorsal side and

  • Crura cerebri on ventral side.

RHOMBENCEPHALON is divided in:

  • Cerebellum,

  • Pons and

  • Medulla oblongata.