What are the 3 germ layers of an animal embryo and what does each give rise to? Which animal phylum has only 2 of these germ areas?

1 Answer
Sep 1, 2016

There are three germ layers in an early embryo of an animal: ecto-, meso- and endo-derms: this is true for triploblastic animals. Animal phyla Porifera, Cnidaria, and Ctenophora are diploblastic, they develop only ectoderm and endoderm.


Ectoderm is the outermost layer of cells: while endoderm lines the primitive gut/'archenteron'.


Germ layers eventually give rise to all organs of the body.

Ectodermal organs are mainly: skin and nervous system.

Endodermal organs are: lungs, gastrointestinal tract, liver, pancreas.

Mesodermal tissues are: muscles, bones, blood, cartilage.