What are the main parts of the ear?

1 Answer
Apr 18, 2017

Ear is divided in three anatomical parts: external ear, middle ear and inner ear. Each part has several important components in it.

  • External ear has--

Pinna - a cartilagenus protective flap,
External Auditory Meatus -- ear canal surrounded by bone, associated with hair and wax glands, and
Tympanum -- membranar ear drum.

  • Middle ear has--

Ear Ossicles -- three in number: Malleus, Incus and Stapes,
Eustachian tube- passage connecting middle ear cavity with pharynx,
Oval window and Round window .

  • Inner ear has:

Semicircular canals- maintains balance when body is in motion,
Vestibule- maintains balance when body is at rest, and
Cochlea- natural hearing aid .

I have chosen two diagrams: first for showing the structures and second to show the functional relations between different parts.