What are the units used to measure different types of mass in the metric system?

2 Answers

Unit of mass in S I unit is 1000 gram or 1 kilogram.


Multiples of this unit kilo gram milli gram etc are used.

Aug 20, 2016

The main units from biggest to smallest are:

"tonnes kilograms grams milligrams"

The conversion factor between each of these is 1000.

1 metric tonne = 1000kg
1 kg = 1000g
1g = 1000mg

In between these main units there are smaller units with a conversion factor of 10.
Although these do exist, they are rarely used.

Kilogram Hectagram Decagram gram decigram centigram milligram These are abbreviated to

Kg Hg Dg g dg cg mg