What was the English Colony east of the Iroquois confederacy called?

1 Answer
Jun 2, 2016

New England


The Iroquois Confederacy spanned a large area around the Great Lakes. To their east were a collection of colonies during the colonial period, including Plymouth Colony, the Massachusetts Bay Colony, New York, Rhode Island Plantation, the Province of New Hampshire, and Connecticut Colony.

The area in general (though often excluding New York) had been called New England beginning in the early 1600s. In the 1680s, Britain actually combined the area into one "dominion" to increase their control over the growing colonies. New York and New Jersey were added to the Dominion of New England a few years later.

Soon after, though, the Dominion was so unpopular that Britain restored separate control to each colony (except that Massachusetts Bay absorbed the Plymouth Colony).