Question #e8a34

1 Answer
Feb 15, 2015

If we start from AMP, there are five steps in the degradation of adenine.

Step 1. AMP to IMP

The enzyme myoadenylate deaminase converts AMP to inosine monophosphate (IMP) and frees an ammonia molecule in the process.

Step 2. IMP to Inosine

A nucleotidase catalyzes the hydrolysis of inosine monophosphate (IMP) to inosine and phosphoric acid.

Step 3. Inosine to Hypoxanthine

Purine nucleoside phosphorylase hydrolyzes inosine to hypoxanthine.

Step 4. Hypoxanthine to Xanthine

Xanthine oxidase converts hypoxanthine to Xanthine

Step 5. Xanthine to Uric Acid

Xanthine oxidase converts xanthine to uric acid, which is excreted the in urine