Question #79b1a

1 Answer
Apr 20, 2015

It codes for structures essential for the function of the mitochondria itself.

Generally speaking, the mitochondrial DNA contains 37 genes that code for the following:

1) Two rRNAs
2) Twenty two tRNAs
3) 13 polypeptides

The 13 polypeptides are subunits of the enzymes that are parts of the electron transport chain. These enzymes are:

1) NADH Dehydrogenase
2) Cytochrome b subunit of the Coenzyme Q
3) Cytochrome c oxidase
4) ATP Synthase
5) Humanin

For further in-depth reading & references:
Genetic Home Reference
Jan-Willem Taanman, The mitochondrial genome: structure, transcription, translation and replication, Biochimica et Biophysica Acta (BBA) - Bioenergetics, Volume 1410, Issue 2, 9 February 1999, Pages 103-123, ISSN 0005-2728

I hope all your questions were answered.