Question #76528

1 Answer
Jan 20, 2018

To maintain a balance within the Federal Government.


In 1944 President F D Roosevelt was elected for a fourth successive term. It was subsequently felt that this was making the executive too powerful and under the Separation of Powers, the three branches of the American government were not only kept separate but also balanced. As a consequence the Constitution was changed so that presidents can now only serve two terms of office.