By February of 1861, how many states seceded from the Union?

1 Answer
Jun 30, 2016

On February 1, Texas became the seventh.


Six states seceded prior to February 1, 1861, in this order: South Carolina, Mississippi, Florida, Alabama, Georgia and Louisiana. These were the original signatories to the Confederate States of America.