How many fundamental particles does the Standard Model contain?

1 Answer
Oct 3, 2014

The Standard Model of Particle Physics contains sixteen fundamental particles.

These are: the up quark, the down quark, the top quark, the bottom quark, the strange quark, the charm quark, the electron, the muon, the tau, the electron neutrino, the muon neutrino, the tau neutrino, the W and Z bosons, gamma photons and gluons. The model is separated into three groups: quarks, leptons and gauge bosons, and five generations of matter. Each column is a generation of matter, but the Higgs Boson has its own generation of matter.