The abdominal aorta divides into two branches before entering the legs. What are the names of these branches?

1 Answer
Jan 20, 2016
  1. Right common iliac artery
  2. Left common iliac artery


Abdominal aorta (decending aorta) is divided into two major branches the right and left common iliac arteries. Both of these common iliac arteries are divided into external and internal iliac arteries.

The right and left external iliac arteries enter right and left leg (thigh) respectively and form femoral arteries.

Here is a diagram showing branches of abdominal aorta :