What are 3 types of sweat glands?

1 Answer
Oct 9, 2016

Sweat glands are also known as sudoriferous or sudoriparous glands.


There are three types of sweat glands , namely

  • Eccrine sweat glands : these are distributed all over the body in varying densities.

  • Apocrine sweat glands : are limited to the axilla and perianal areas in humans.
    Ceruminous glands ( ear wax ) , mammary glands ( milk ) and ciliary glands ( in eyelids ) are modified apocrine sweat glands.

  • Apoeccrine sweat glands : these have the characteristics of both eccrine and apocrine sweat glands. They are larger than eccrine glands but smaller than apocrine glands. These are mostly found in the armpits and perianal regions. They produce more sweat than both apocrine and eccrine glands, and play a large role in axillary sweating.