What are the names of the tissue layers of the stomach?

1 Answer
Write your answer here...
Start with a one sentence answer
Then teach the underlying concepts
Don't copy without citing sources


Write a one sentence answer...



Explain in detail...


I want someone to double check my answer

Describe your changes (optional) 200


This answer has been featured!

Featured answers represent the very best answers the Socratic community can create.

Learn more about featured answers

Jan 27, 2016


  1. Mucosa
  2. Submucosa
  3. Muscular layer (muscularis)
  4. Serosa.


The wall of stomach, like the other parts of the gastrointestinal tract, consists of four layers : Mucosa, Submucosa, Muscularis, Serosa.

The mucosa of stomach is divided in three layers. They are :

  1. The surface epithelium : surface epithelium contains gastric pits and gastric glands. Gastric pits are invagination of epithelium into lamina propria (second layer of mucosa). Gastric glands produce enzymes, HCl (hydrochloric acid) and gastric hormones. There are different types of cells in the epithelium. Such as Parietal cell, Stem cell, Mucous neck cell, Chief cell and Enteroendocrine cell.

  2. The lamina propria : lamina propria of stomach is composed of loose connective tissue interspersed with smooth muscle and lymphoid cells.

  3. The muscularis mucosa : mucosa is separated from submucosa by this layer. It is composed of smooth muscle.

The submucosa is a layer of dense connective tissue. It contains blood and lymph vessels, and is infiltrated by lymphoid cells, mast cells and macrophages.

The muscle layer (muscularis) is composed of smooth muscle fibers. The fibers are oriented in three main directions. The external layer is longitudinal, the middle layer is circular and the internal layer is oblique.

The serosa , a thin layer of serous membrane, is the outermost layer of stomach wall.

Diagram showing the layers of stomach wall :


Was this helpful? Let the contributor know!
Trending questions
Impact of this question
3166 views around the world
You can reuse this answer
Creative Commons License