What are the principal layers of the skin?

1 Answer
Feb 29, 2016


  1. Epidermis
  2. Dermis


The skin is composed of two principal layers : epidermis and dermis. The epidermis consists of a stratified squamous keratinized epithelium. From the dermis outward, the epidermis has five layers of keratin-producing cells (keratinocytes). The layers are :

  1. Stratum Basale
  2. Stratum Spinosum
  3. Stratum Granulosum
  4. Stratum Lucidum
  5. Stratum Corneum

The dermis is the connective tissue that supports the epidermis and binds it to the subcutaneous tissue (hypodermis). The dermis contains two layers:

  1. The Papillary Layer
  2. The Reticular Layer.


To read about the skin in more detail, check out this link.