What structures are in the outer ear?

1 Answer

The auricle, the auditory canal, and the tympanum.


The ear is divided into three sections: the outer ear, the middle ear. and the inner ear.

The outer ear is also made up of three parts:

  1. The Auricle: this is cartilage covered with skin that acts as a sound collector.
  2. The Auditory Canal: this is a hollow short tube that leads to the eardrum and conducts the collected sound waves to the eardrum.
  3. The Tympanic Membrane: this is the outer layer of the eardrum or tympanum which vibrates according to the sound waves received from the auditory canal and transmits the sound waves to the fine bones in the middle ear.