What were the three R's of FDR's New Deal?

1 Answer
Oct 18, 2017

The Three R's of the New Deal were:

  1. Relief
  2. Recovery
  3. Reforms


Relief was meant at to provide temporary help to the massive number of Americans who were unemployed during the Great Depression. Federal organizations such as the Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) and the Works Progress Administration (WPA) gave government funded jobs to people as a way to provide them with a paycheck and to also try and stimulate the economy.

Recovery looked aide the economy in bouncing back from depression. The Agricultural Adjustment Act and The National Industrial Recovery Act, among other things, paid farmers and industries to reduce their production in an effort to raise prices for these businesses.

Reforms looked to eliminate the causes of the depression and prevent a crisis like the the Great Depression from happening again. The Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) was created in an attempt to prevent banks from failing in the future. Addiitionally, the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) was set up to regulate the stock market and prevent the fraud and abuse believed to have contributed to the Great Depression.