How many base SI units are there?

1 Answer
Apr 10, 2014

There are seven fundamental units of measurement:

  • Length(meters)
  • Second (time)
  • kilogram (mass),

  • Ampere (electric current),

  • Kelvin (temperature),

  • Candela (luminous intensity),

  • Mole (amount of a substance).

Derived units are combinations of the fundamental units. There are many examples, such as metres/second (speed), newtons (force), watts (power) and pascals (pressure).

Check out, for more derived units:
It gives a thorough chart, and shows how the units are derived.