What are the major layers of the earth?

1 Answer
Oct 25, 2015

There are four major layers.


They are...

The Crust:

  • Very thin
  • The part you live on top of

  • Separated into plates (when they knock against each other Earthquakes happen.)

The Mantle:

  • The largest layer (1800 miles thick)

  • Flows because of very high temperatures

  • The movement of the plates is caused by this flowing

The Outer Core:

  • Composed of the metals Nickel and Iron

  • Completely liquid because of extremely high temperatures (4000-9000 degrees Fahrenheit)

The Inner Core:

  • Temperatures and pressures are so high that the metals are squeezed together and are not able to move about like a liquid, but are forced to vibrate in place as a solid.


Note that some of these layers can be broken down and described further.