What were the Apollo Missions?

1 Answer
Jan 7, 2016

The Apollo missions were the United States mission to the moon.


There were three stages to NASA's journey to the moon. The first stage, the Mercury program, was designed to get American astronauts into space. The second stage, the Gemini Program was meant to prepare the astronauts and equipment to go to the moon. Finally, the Apollo program brought astronauts to the moon.

The Apollo missions relied on the Saturn IB and Saturn V rockets. The Saturn V was the rocket that went to the moon. There were three booster stages to get the rocket into space, an instrument unit, and the Apollo spacecraft, which housed the astronauts.


Apollo 11 was the mission that brought Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin to the moon. The missions leading up to Apollo 11 were all test fires and orbit missions. Apollo 12 and Apollo 14 through 17 all landed on the moon as well. Apollo 13 was supposed to be a moon landing, but an unfortunate equipment malfunction kept it from landing.

Apollo 1 was an equipment test early in the program. A spark inside the capsule caused a fire that killed astronauts Gus Grissom, Ed White, and Roger Chaffee. It was a terrible tragedy, and created a lot of controversy over NASA's ability to land on the moon.