×

Hello! Socratic's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy have been updated, which will be automatically effective on October 6, 2018. Please contact hello@socratic.com with any questions.

Found an interesting bug just now, more details in the answer - "?"

1 Answer
Jun 9, 2015

Answer:

This is about that "You haven't posted your answer yet. You'll lose your progress if you navigate away" warning message.

Explanation:

As I'm sure most of the contributors know, if you're writing an answer and you happen to accidentally hit the Close tab or Close page buttons of your browser, you get a warning message that goes like this

"You haven't posted your answer yet. You'll lose your progress if you navigate away"

As a side note, this an extremely useful safeguard - it spared me the trouble of having to rewrite my answer a couple of times :)

However, I just noticed that, at least in one case, you can close a tab or page without getting this message.

I wanted to write an alternative answer to a question that already had an answer posted, but I changed my mind in the process. When I closed my tab, it closed without this reminder.

I tested this on several other answers, and the results were the same

  • Unanswered question #-># you get the warning message;
  • Answered question #-># you don't get the warning message.