How do seed plants differ from seedless plants?

1 Answer

The difference between seed plants and seedless plants is that seedless plants do not bear seeds for propagation, whereas seed plants bear seeds for multiplication.

The plant kingdom is traditionally divided into four main divisions, i.e Thallophyta, Bryophyta, Pteridophyta and Spermatophyta.

Plants in division Spermatophyta are characterized by the presence of seeds and are called seed plants; whereas the plants in all the other three divisions lack the presence of seeds and are called seedless plants.

Spermatophytes (seed bearing plants) are highly evolved and the plants in other 3 divisions are comparatively less advanced and thallophytes being the most primitive.

Seed plants mainly multiply by seeds. Seedless plants multiply by spores that may produced asexually or as a consequence of asexual reproduction.