What are the names of some proteins coded by mitochondrial DNA?

1 Answer
Jul 6, 2016

ATP synthase 6, cytochrome b, cytochrome c oxidase and more...


Mitochondrial DNA (mtDNA) has 37 genes of which 24 code for RNA molecues (22 transfer RNA, 2 ribosomal RNA). The other 13 genes code for proteins that all function in cellular respiration / oxidative phosphorylation.

The 13 proteins encoded by mtDNA are given in the image below. These are their names:

  • complex I
    seven proteins: NADH dehydrogenase subunits 1-9 and 4L (ND1-ND6 and ND4L)
  • complex III
    one protein: cytochrome b subunit (Cyt b)
  • complex IV
    three proteins: cytochrome c oxidase subunits I-III (COI-COIII)
  • complex V (ATP synthase)
    two proteins: ATP synthase subunits 6 and 8 (ATP6 and ATP8)


a)* the circular mtDNA with the genes and their names b)* the representation of the respiratory chain complexes and the names of the proteins listed underneath the complexes.